Wednesday, January 19, 2011

New Sermon Series...

From beginning to end the Bible tells one story, God’s Great Story. It is the story of God’s glorious work of redeeming a people through the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ. This story includes creation, human sin, the fall of all creation, God’s covenant with his people, the redemptive work of Jesus, and the coming new creation. It is the story that shapes all of history and defines our lives.

The idea for this series was sparked by D.A. Carson’s
The God Who Is There. I owe the outline of the series to Dr. Carson’s wonderful book. I am also indebted to such books as According to Plan by Graham Goldsworthy, God’s Big Picture by Vaughan Roberts, and God’s Glory in Salvation Through Judgment by James Hamilton.

Recommended Reading:

What Does God Want Of Us Anyway?
By Mark Dever
“Dever examines the general narrative of God's Word to answer the question, "What does God wants of us anyway?" Readers looking for a panoramic view of Scripture will be reminded of the faithful, persistent love of God and find themselves drawn into a broader, but deeper, understanding of the maker and keeper of promises.”

What is the Gospel
By Greg Gilbert
“Beginning with Paul's systematic presentation of the gospel in Romans and moving through the sermons in Acts, Gilbert argues that the central structure of the gospel consists of four main subjects: God, man, Christ, and a response. The book carefully examines each and then explores the effects the gospel can have in individuals, churches, and the world. Both Christian and non-Christian readers will gain a clearer understanding of the gospel in this valuable resource.”

The Great Work of the Gospel
By John Ensor
“Forgiveness is God's Great Work because sin is the greatest of problems, the cross is the most excellent of solutions, and grace produces the most extreme changes. It is all-inclusive and everlasting. In this book, John Ensor helps us grasp the reality and human experience of God’s ongoing, outworking, wonderful grace.”

Living the Cross-Centered Life
By C.J. Mahaney
“This book is packed with powerful truth that will grip your heart, clear your mind, and invigorate your soul. Chapters include "Breaking the Rules of Legalism," "The Cross Centered Day," and "Assurance and Joy." Get ready to behold a breathtaking view of what God intends to accomplish in and through you every day.”

* Recommended books will be available for purchase at COS on 1/23 & 1/30.

No comments: